New Jergens Unscented Self Tanning Lotion Review & Sunless Tanning Tutorial♥

Image

Before I start, I have to apologize for no before and after pictures! I totally forgot to take a before and would have nothing to compare with the after! So, you will have to use your imagination.
I have been using Jergens Self Tanning system for a while, I would say about 7ish years. Through the beauty blunders that come with self tanning, through trail and MANY errors, I have now conquered the system and will share with you how to get a great glow just in time for summer!
I actually never really minded the Jergens tanning scent before, but when they took it out I was grateful because heaps of fragrance is not good for your skin, especially your delicate face. I have not noticed a change in the firmness or reduction of cellulite in my skin one bit since using this. Maybe it takes a few bottles to see a difference, but I’m pretty convinced that its just a boldface lie marketing ploy.
Anyway, the color of the tan itself is great! Make sure you buy the Medium-Tan bottle. The Fair-Medium has a more golden orange tint to it rather than golden brown. At least that has been my unfortunate experience!
Alrighty! Now let me help you achieve a great, flawless, safe tan!

First, take about a 1/2 cup of sugar and three tablespoons of olive or coconut oil. Mix together. You can add essential oils if you want. I like adding blood orange or lemon!
Take a hot shower and scrub the sugar mixture all over your body pay a little extra attention to the knees, elbows, and any other rough areas. This is exfoliating the dead skin cells off the body so you will be glowing and soft!
Rinse off the sugar and then dry off thoroughly. Now, before you use the tanning lotion, use a light, fast absorbing lotion. I use Petal Fresh Botanicals in Fresh Lilac. Then for the rougher parts, use a more dense lotion like Victoria’s Secret Body Cream ( I looooovvveee Delicate Petals). Okay now that your body is exfoliated and hydrated, put on some disposable plastic gloves. This will ensure your palms are not unusually dark. Take the self tanner and start down at your feet/legs and work your way up. This way there will be no creases by bending down. Okay so far so good? Once you’re done with 95% of your body, take off the gloves and wash your hands, (they get sweaty). Lotion your hands once more with the light lotion. Then take a PEA SIZE of self tanner and put on back of your hands. Rub the BACK of your hands together, don’t forget to coat the web between your finger and thumb or in between your fingers. The hands are strangely the hardest part of this whole tanning process, sometimes they can get too dark and it looks like your left your hand in the Dorito bag too long, or you get hardly any on your hands and you look like you have Mickey Mouse white gloves on! Not cute! The pea sized about is just right though, and you will find what works for you as you embark on this sunless tanning adventure.

There you go! You’re done! Try not to get water on yourself  for 8 hours. If you can, do this at night since your body warms up at night it will help the tan penetrate your pores. There is also no chance of getting water on you when you’re tucked away in bed! Unless you’re into that kind of stuff…no judgement.

Happy Safe Tanning!

♥Shelby

10 thoughts on “New Jergens Unscented Self Tanning Lotion Review & Sunless Tanning Tutorial♥

  1. Hi Shelby! For some additional self tanning products, check out http://www.selftanning.com. Those girls have reviewed just about every self tanner out there! I found out about Clinique Self Sun on their website and have been using it ever since :)

  2. I have been using self tanners since I was in my early 20’s and when I use my self tanners I do what they recommend faithfully and I apply lotion every day so not to dry out my skin and tan but even after doing that I get the blotchy look or alligator look. When I see that I exfoliate really good and then reapply but it doesn’t cover it but makes it look worse. I have tried everything out there both cheap and expensive and I used last Jergens Natural light medium and for the first few days it looked good. Again every day I moisturized with lotion or the St Ives Spray Lotion and rub in really good but I still can’t figure out what I am doing wrong. I just scrubbed my body with baking soda paste and want to just start over. Do you have any suggestions? I used to be the tanner and tanning bed person in the past but the last 7 years since I had my son I stopped completely and am just looking for the perfect suggestion what I am doing wrong:(

    • The best suggestion I have is to use a good home made sugar scrub before using the tanning product. Perhaps, the “alligator look,” is the skin being uneven in some places because dead skin is not being properly sloughed off. I would use a sugar mixture with these ingredients: A cup of sugar, three table spoons lemon juice, and three table spoons oil, (I like coconut). Mix all these together, and after your body is damp, scrub in a circular motion all over your body. Sugar has circular molecules so it is not damaging to the skin while exfoliating. The lemon juice is a brightening agent and is also great for fading any old tan that may have clung to the old skin cells. Of course, the oil is for moisture. After you have done this, give your skin a couple days off by not using the self tanner. Just get your skin even and hydrated. After about three days since the initial exfoliant, scrub with it again on the third day and THEN apply the self tanner. This gives the skin a chance to regenerate and let you start fresh! I like the sugar scrub better than the baking soda method, plus, it smells better! Hope this helps! -Shelby♥

Leave a Reply

